Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 11 of 55

Winners of SXSW 2011 Film Awards Breakthrough Performance Evan Ross – 96 Minutes Rachael Harris – Natural Selection Matt O'Leary – Natural Selection SXSW FILM SXSW 2011 Bumpers Joe Nicolosi's acclaimed Midnight Bumper was a real talking point at SXSW 2010, so we were delighted to invite him to create fi ve brand new pre-screening bumpers for SXSW 2011. He more than delivered, and one of them, Mario, has passed the 1,000,000 viewing mark on YouTube. FEATURE FILM AUDIENCE AWARDS Natural Selection News + Notes FEATURE FILM JURY AWARDS DOCUMENTARY FEATURE Jury Award Best Documentary Feature DRAGONSLAYER Director: Tristan Patterson Best Editing Where Soldiers Come From Editors: Kyle Henry & Heather Courtney Best Cinematography DRAGONSLAYER Director of Photography: Eric Koretz Best Score/Music The City Dark Music by: The Fishermen Three, Ben Fries NARRATIVE FEATURE Jury Award Best Narrative Feature Natural Selection Director: Robbie Pickering Best Editing Natural Selection Editor: Michelle Tesoro Best Cinematography A Year in Mooring Director of Photography: Elliot Davis Mario Head to to see all of these mini-epics, and stay tuned for more great things from Nicolosi. Best Score/Music Natural Selection Music by: iZLER, Curt Schneider Best Screenplay Natural Selection Writer: Robbie Pickering Another Great Year for PanelPicker PanelPicker returned for the SXSW Film Conference for a second year in 2011 and was a great success. Participants offered an array of great new panel ideas, livening up the fi nal program with such successful panels as "Pimp My Movie: Online Marketing Makeovers" and "The Female Funny: Is It Different For Girls?" Why not be a part of SXSW 2012 and submit your own ideas to the PanelPicker when it opens this summer? Please keep checking back at lm beginning in June for updates, including the launch of SXSW PanelPicker 2012. 10 SXSW ORLD / M AY – J UNE 201 1 DOCUMENTARY FEATURE Audience Award Kumaré Director: Vikram Gandhi NARRATIVE FEATURE Natural Selection Director: Robbie Pickering SPOTLIGHT PREMIERES Becoming Santa Director: Jeff Meyers EMERGING VISIONS Weekend Director: Andrew Haigh LONE STAR STATES Building Hope Director: Turk Pipkin 24 BEATS PER SECOND Love Shines Director: Douglas Arrowsmith MIDNIGHT FEATURE (Votes tabulated across both Midnighters & SXFantastic Sections) Attack the Block Director: Joe Cornish SHORT FILM JURY AWARDS NARRATIVE SHORTS Programs 1-3 and Medium Cool: (not so) Shorts Pioneer Director: David Lowery DOCUMENTARY SHORTS Programs 1 & 2 Mothersbane Director: Jason Jakaitis ANIMATED SHORTS The Wonder Hospital Director: Beomsik Shimbe Shim MUSIC VIDEOS Hollerado, "Americanarama" Director: Greg Jardin TEXAS SHORTS 8 Directors: Julie Gould & Daniel Laabs TIME WARNER CABLE & OVATION YOUNG FILMMAKER SCHOLARSHIP for TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL SHORT ( __ ) Director: Chad Werner SXSW SPECIAL JURY AWARDS SXSW WHOLPHIN AWARD Special Jury Award The Eagleman Stag Director: Mikey Please SXSW CHICKEN & EGG EMERGENT NARRATIVE WOMAN DIRECTOR AWARD Winner: Sophia Takal for Green LOUIS BLACK / Special Jury LONE STAR AWARD INCENDIARY: The Willingham Case Directors: Steve Mims & Joe Bailey Jr. SXSW FILM DESIGN AWARDS EXCELLENCE IN POSTER DESIGN Silver Bullets Designer: Yann Legendre AUDIENCE AWARD WINNER Green Designer: Adrian Kolarczyk EXCELLENCE IN TITLE DESIGN Blue Valentine Designer: Jim Helton AUDIENCE AWARD WINNER Blue Valentine Designer: Jim Helton Rachel Sklar: "The Female Funny" panel ABBEY ADKISON

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SXSWORLD - SXSWORLD May 2011